Recipe for Life

Holy Cow!  Where has the summer gone?  It seems like just yesterday I was planning and looking ahead to the warm summer days.  Now it seems suddenly we have leaped into early autumn days of preparing the house and garden for winter.

Busy with fall cleaning I thought I would leave you with a few wise words that I discovered in an old cookbook published by the Ladies’ Axillary to our local  Canadian Legion Branch.  I don’t know the publication date, but my guess would be that it was put together sometime in the 1960’s.  In any event, until I finish my cleaning and get around to some serious cooking I would like to share with you what I think is a Recipe for Life.

Take Time for 10 Things

  1. Take time to Work – it is the price of success.
  2. Take time to Think – it is the source of power.
  3. Take time to Play – it is the secret of youth.
  4. Take time to Read – it is the foundation of knowledge.
  5. Take time to Worship – it is the highway of reverence and washes the dust of earth from our eyes.
  6. Take time to Help and Enjoy Friends – it is the source of happiness.
  7. Take time to Love – it is the one sacrament of life.
  8. Take time to Dream – it hitches the soul to the stars.
  9. Take time to Laugh – it is the singing that helps with life’s loads.
  10. Take time to Plan – it is the secret of being able to have time to take time for the first nine things!

Good Day and Good Eats!

Published in: on September 15, 2011 at 10:07 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://lifeinarecipe.wordpress.com/2011/09/15/recipe-for-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love your recipe :)

  2. Wise advice, thanks Cindy! :)

  3. Love your 10 things Cindy.
    Have a fantastic weekend. :-) Mandy xo

  4. What a lovely recipe :)

    • Sometimes the best recipes are the simple things in life.

  5. Thanks for sharing this; I love it! I definitely needed the reminder. :)

  6. Amen, those ten things adhered to, would certainly bake up a savory, well balanced, dish of a life. Thank You.

    God Bless You
    paul

    • Yes Paul it would, and I think if followed would turn out perfectly every time! Thanks for your visit!

  7. I think I might have to design some special calligraphy work and frame your 10 steps…if only I had a little extra time!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

