Meatless Monday – Tomato Cheese Pie

Tomato Cheese Pie

In an attempt to change our diet to a more healthier one I decided that Mondays would be meatless.  I figured that way at least one day out of the week our meals would be higher in fiber and also be more of a cooking challenge for me.  I am not a full fledged vegetarian, but I have had times in my life when I have eaten as one.  I know people who are vegetarians for all sorts of reasons.  They run the gamut from saving the animals to health and dieting.

I myself am a meat eater and I am not ashamed to admit it.  I don’t argue that some animal farming practices could be improved and I am sure that in time they will be.  In fact, there are more and more places now sprouting up that are raising and butchering animals in a most respectful way and we should be supporting their efforts whenever possible to encourage changes.

I don’t dwell on the life and death of my food for it would put me off of it all together.  I am still not convinced that even broccoli doesn’t cry when cut off at the stem!

Whatever we choose to eat, whether it be meat, vegetable, fruit or dairy, we should always respect our food.  Say thank you to the plants in your garden when you harvest their fruits…say a little silent prayer for food exchanging their life for yours.  Respect keeps us all healthy and wise!

That being said, when I announced to my husband that Mondays would be meatless from now on, his reply was that he would have the previous nights leftovers for dinner. They contained meat of course.

‘That’s fine’, I replied, ‘but you will be missing out on a very good Tomato Cheese Pie.’ He remained non committal as he ate his dinner…the pie was still in the oven.

‘You didn’t say it was Quiche!’  He exclaimed when he saw the pie cooling and then proceeded to eat two wedges of the Tomato Cheese Pie…ahem… Quiche.

This recipe is very delicious and made for a great meatless dinner.  I had some fresh crispy green onions with my pie and found it a very satisfying light meal.

Tomato Cheese Pie

1 unbaked 9 inch pie shell

5 medium size firm ripe tomatoes, peeled and sliced

2 cups grated cheddar cheese

3 eggs

1/2 whipping cream

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Dip tomatoes into boiling water to soften skins for peeling.  Peel and slice tomatoes, removing the seeds and membranes if they are not real meaty otherwise your pie will be too runny.

Fill unbaked pastry shell with alternate layers of tomato slices and cheese.

Beat eggs, add milk, cream, pepper and salt; pour over tomato-cheese mixture.

Bake in hot oven (450 F) for 15 minutes.  Reduce heat to 325F and bake 40 minutes longer or until set.

Let stand 10 minutes at room temperature before cutting.  Enjoy!

Good Day and Good Eats!

Published in: on September 26, 2011 at 3:27 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://lifeinarecipe.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/meatless-monday-tomato-cheese-pie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Must say, I would have a problem waiting the 10 minutes before cutting a slice! Great post Cindy, so important for us to be aware of our food sources and I agree with you, be respectful.
    Have a happy week. :-) Mandy

  2. The only Cindy also has Meatless Mondays. I don’t know how much healthier it might would be for me…as put ANYTHING as yummy looking as that Pie, or anything else remotely resembling a Pizza, or even a Quiche for that matter…and
    I can’t believe I ate the whole thing!!!
    Lovely recipe and dish.
    Thanks
    paul

  3. This looks great- and I have a glut of Roma tomatoes to use up!
    This will be dinner tonight.
    Thanks for the idea!

  4. I love of all veggies, and sometimes without thinking I eat a no protein meal.I think textures when eating is important. As with your tomato and cheese [pie ] the texture of the flaky pastry shell and soft centre would satisfy your taste buds. As with more and more vegetarian meals..add lentils, cous cous, polenta, quinoa, its all satisfying in taste and surprising in textures. You can often find me having conversations with my roses, walking around the garden, I’m not as close to the veggies.!!Have a great week.

  5. Oh yum, yes please :)

  6. Oh that looks so amazing :) I have never tried a meatless Monday before…maybe I will start with this recipe :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

