Life, Snow and Cookies

Well, here I am back in the blogging saddle again.  It seems like my best intentions keep getting side swiped this year.  I guess I could sum up this year for me as one testing my ability to hang on and bounce back.

Thankfully the only change in my life today is the weather.  This morning we had our first real snowfall of the season.  The wintery scene outside had me thinking ahead to Christmas, and I was creating a list of food to buy so I can bake up some goodies for the festive season.  I hadn’t intended on baking cookies this afternoon, but while rummaging through the cupboards to see what I had lurking in there and what I would need to add to my list, I ended up spilling an opened bag of chocolate chips.  They were the mini ones, and so that meant I had a lots of picking to do to gather them up.  Since cleaning up the chocolate chips led to cleaning out the cupboard I also ended up coming up with a small bag of dried sweetened cranberries were not the freshest when I bought them, so instead of getting eaten they were just moved about.  The chocolate chips and the found cranberries were calling to be used up, so I decided some cookies were in order.  Besides on a wintery day what could be more better to bake and fill the house with the sweet rich aroma of Oatmeal cookies with chocolate chips?

As added incentive, these Oatmeal cookies are a one bowl deal, so there is no excuse not to whip up a batch!

Oatmeal Cranberry Chocolate Chip Cookies

Preheat oven to 375F

In a electric mixer bowl, stir together the following ingredients:

2 cups flour, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt.

When mixed, add 1 cup shortening or margarine and 2 eggs.  Beat mixture until well combined.

Stir in 1-1/2 cups rolled oats, 3/4 mini chocolate chips, 1 cup dried sweetened cranberries and mix well. You can also add nuts or substitute the cranberries for nuts.

Using a teaspoon, measure out a heaping spoonful of dough about the size of a walnut.  Roll into a ball and flatten slightly with the palm of your hand and place on ungreased cookie sheets.  Depending on the size of your cookies you should get between 4 and 6 dozen of cookies.  Bake in a 375F oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Cook on wire rack.

Well, as I finish writing this while munching on a warm cookie that’s leaving the melty goodness of chocolate on my lips, I am thinking I really should clean out another kitchen cupboard and see what else I can come across to cook up…stay tuned!

Good Day and Good Eats!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://lifeinarecipe.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/life-snow-and-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. These cookies sound wonderful!

  2. I too have found it hard to keep up with blogging, Cindy. We should not get anxious about it; if we can we will and if we can’t we wont, simple as that. Nice to know you’re OK, I did fret a bit about your absence. xxx

  3. So good to see a post from you again Cindy – you have been missed and no need to stress about how often you blog, we will always be here when you are ready. Glad to know all is okay. :-) Mandy xo

  4. Oh you it’s snowing already there? Oh it’s sounds so wonderful :) Your cookies looks amazing, Cindy :)

  5. Calling in to wish you and your family a merry Christmas and Joyful Blessings. Enjoy the festivities, and wish all your dreams come true for twentytwelve. x


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

