Stollen Moments

Since my last post, while it might have seemed that I had dropped off the face of the earth, this picture is proof that I am alive and have been baking!  This picture shows a sample of the baked goods featuring Christmas Stollen that I made and we gave to our friends and neighbors this past Christmas.

Life had a quirky way of interrupting my writing last year and Christmas was no exception.  Mother in-law took ill the week leading up to Christmas which had most evenings spent in the hospital emergency room so they could administer her medication.  It was tiring for us all, but most especially for this 92 year old lady.  Just in time for the Christmas weekend the arrangements were finalized and we were able to give her her medication at home.  Daily I had to hook her up to an intravenous but at least it could be given to her while she was comfortably ensconced in a recliner and visit with family while it was being administered.  This episode was a reminder that at her age of 92, time with her grows shorter each day, and you have to grab life’s moments while you can.

Now that we are into a new year I look forward to sharing more stories and recipes from my kitchen, which I am most especially looking forward to since I also had to buy a new oven before Christmas.

Happy New Year friends!  I wish you much health, wealth and happiness in this new year of 2012!

Good Day and Good Eats!

Published in: on January 5, 2012 at 11:21 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://lifeinarecipe.wordpress.com/2012/01/05/stollen-moments/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Aaaaah you and I have such similar stories to tell……2011 was a bad year for me, it ended badly too….and this one has started badly with mom in law being re-admitted to hospital today again……I am exhausted and it is only the 5th….hugs to you and I do hope that 2012 is going to be kind and full of love and joy for you…good health and blessings to you xx

    • Sorry to hear we are sharing a story…so far the new year is starting off calmer than the last one went…I hope the same goes for you!

  2. Hope 2012 is a great year for you!

    • Thank you…I too wish you a wonderful 2012!

  3. Big hugs to you Cindy – here’s to a year filled with love and laughter! I hope that your MIL is on the mend. :-) Mandy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

