A Good Morning Quiche

A Good Morning Quiche

Eat Breakfast!

A new year resolution that I consistently make every year.  A resolution that I in fact make and break several times over the course of the year…every year.  In fact today, while I am writing this post, I have on the desk a cup of coffee…my third so far this morning…and not a crumb of breakfast food in sight…except for the picture I have just inserted into this post.

In fact, this picture of the delightful quiche I made and had for breakfast just a few days ago is now but a fond memory.  It turned out so well, that within two days, between my husband and myself we had finished off the pie!  I had it for breakfast, we dined on it for lunch, and my husband was dipping into it for dessert after dinner.

Yesterday I bought the supplies so that today I could make another.  With any luck it will be around long enough to supply me with more than one breakfast.

Back to breakfast….I love breakfast foods, but not necessarily eating them at breakfast.  If there are leftovers about, that is what I love to eat in the morning.  Previous breakfasts I have eaten have ranged from spaghetti to turkey and mashed potatoes!  I have come to realize that while I love to cook…I don’t especially like to do it first thing in the morning.  If there is food handy I will eat it for breakfast.  If not, it’s coffee for breakfast, because it is ready made.  I have a coffee pot with a timer, so no thought is involved to make it in the morning.  With my eyes shut I can pull a mug from the cupboard and pour myself a cup.  It’s satisfying, if not filling.

~Leaving the writing for a moment to put in a slice of bread into the toaster~

Talking about food is making me hungry, and it is after all already 10 a.m., so I have resorted to putting a slice of fruit bread into the toaster.  I have some wonderful leftovers in the fridge from last night’s dinner, but I have opted to save those for lunch and my next post…so toast it is.

Returning to the quiche…it really does make a great breakfast.  Hot or cold and served with fresh fruit, you have a complete meal and a breakfast you can feel good about eating.  Not only that, if you are on the run it is fast making it easy to eat before you head out of the house, or quick to pack and take with you.

This quiche is made with bacon and Gruyere cheese but can one can easily replace the bacon with other meat or seafood, and the Gruyere can be replaced with another cheese like cheddar if you like.

Try it!  I think you will like it and if you are like me trying to hurdle the ‘eat breakfast’ resolution, you might just find this to be one of the solutions!

Quiche

  • Pastry for one pie crust
  • 6 to 12 slices of bacon, chopped (or I purchase bacon ends from our butcher. I cut off the overly excess fat to make the pieces meatier and chop it up to use in my quiche.) You want at least one cup of cooked bacon pieces.
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup grated Gruyere cheese

Line your pie plate with the pie crust.

Break the eggs into a bowl and beat with a whisk.  Brush the pie crust with some of the beaten egg and bake for 3-4 minutes in a preheated 375º.  Set aside the pre-baked pie crust to cool while you are preparing the filling

In a skillet over medium heat cook the chopped bacon pieces until browned but not overly crisp.  Drain the bacon pieces and sprinkle onto the pie crust.  To the bowl with the eggs, add the cream, salt and nutmeg, and blend together well with the whisk.

Pour the egg and cream mixture over the bacon in the pie crust.  Sprinkle the cheese over top.  For an added pop of flavour you can sprinkle smoke paprika over the top of the pie filling before putting in the oven.

Bake the quiche in a preheated 375º oven for 25 to 35 minutes, until the filling is puffed up and lightly browned, and a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.  The filling will settle down as it cools.  Serve warm, at room temperature or cold.

Options:

Crumbled cook sausage meat like Italian or Chorizo, ham, crab, shrimp or smoked salmon, or just sautéed vegetables like onion, celery, spinach and peppers if you prefer a vegetarian take on your quiche.  Try different cheeses like cheddar, Swiss, or something with zip like a Jalapeno Harvarti.  The variations are endless and you will soon discover your own family favorite!

Good Day and Good Eats!

Published in: on January 16, 2012 at 10:44 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://lifeinarecipe.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/a-good-morning-quiche/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy New Year Life in a Recipe. Quiche are one of my favorite food reason why is because you can add anything to it and it is always. It could be vegetarian or a meat lover. What ever the choice is it is always a winner.

    • So true and they are so easy to make!

  2. Mmm- I love quiche. I make it for breakfast, but like it best for lunch.
    I used to make a dozen at a time and them freeze them and give them away for Christmas, but last year just couldn’t get away from baking cookies to do much else.
    Yours looks delicious- maybe later this week I’ll try it.
    Thanks, Cindy- and thanks for stopping by my blog, as well.

    • I never thought of freezing them…that’s a good idea if I could get them to last long enough for them to make it there! :-)

  3. Nothing beats a good bacon quiche. Lovely recipe Cindy. :-) Mandy

  4. I am also not a very good breakfast eater :)

  5. What a beautiful way to start a day :) It looks so cozy and comforting. I wish my oven weren’t broken so I could make this right now :)

    • Sorry to hear your oven is broken. That happened to me before Christmas so I had to purchase a new one. I hope yours is working soon, in the meantime I am sure you will come up with some wonderful foods using your cook top!

  6. My husband is a big fan of quiche so I will definitely try this. I’m sure that he’ll be very delighted ;-)

  7. Glad to hear I’m not the only person who eats leftovers for breakfast, or any time of day for that matter! I always like to over-cook for later treats!

  8. I have enjoyed your blogs and would like to invite you to take the “Unplugged” Questionaire. It is for food bloggers, although I am not a food blogger I was asked to take it.

    Please copy it from my blog, paste it into yours and get the creative juices flowing!

    Ronnie

  9. Oh, I just love a yummy quiche. Simple to prepare, versatile and I too could eat a slice for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I’m a new follower. Looking forward to future posts!
    Allison


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

